The itch to write had me preoccupied for a few days now, staring out of windows, into empty spaces desperately trying to form an idea. Words tumbling around and forming sentences, sentences building on sentences and forming an idea and tumbling away shyly with a broken confidence.

Then a scene transpired, I was chasing a cat in my house calling out its name, the cat ran under the dining table and settled down there. I sat down cross-legged calling out for my cat to come out.

Journeying to the office, at the office, at lunch and while journeying back nothing substantial materialized.But the itch grew stronger and stronger growling and snarling, tearing my thoughts apart and demanding appeasement.

I playfully pushed the ball of yarn, underneath the table, towards the cat. Within a few seconds, the ball of yarn rolled to my legs again and soon a game pass-pass ensued.

After dinner, I grabbed a pen and my book, back to the bare basics, doodling always calmed the itch and let the thoughts flow more easily. Determined to write something before going to bed, I leaned back and closed my eyes, my mind meandered for awhile amongst the events of the day. Then a scene transpired, I was chasing a cat in my house calling out its name, the cat ran under the dining table and settled down there. I sat down cross-legged calling out for my cat to come out. A ball of yarn rolled from underneath the table and rested near my crossed legs, I am not a person who knits, how am I to knit a ball of yarn into my story?, I wondered. I playfully pushed the ball of yarn, underneath the table, towards the cat. Within a few seconds, the ball of yarn rolled to my legs again and soon a game pass-pass ensued.

I pushed the ball towards the cat for the ninth time, I caught something move from the corner of my left eye, I turned to see the cat sitting at the far end of the room staring at me intently, I turned  around and looked down and watched as the ball of yarn rolled and rested at my feet. A sudden chill gripped me …

Do I own two cats or one?  My curiosity triumphed over my fear as I gingerly bent down to catch a glimpse of what was underneath the table…suddenly, I felt something warm and furry touch my hand startling me out of my half-conscious state and back into my room. I looked around half confused, succeeding in dismissing it as my imagination I pulled my thoughts together wondering if I could build a story out of it, suddenly I heard a distinct purr from underneath the bed.

I don’t own a cat.

